Skip to content ↓

Local Governing Committee

Bishop Bewick Catholic Education Trust is structured in accordance with its Articles of Association. 

There are three levels of governance within the Trust: Members, Trust Board of Directors, and the governors who make up the Local Governing Committee for each academy in the Trust.

‚ÄčThe Trust comprises five Members. The Members are accountable to the DfE and have ultimate responsibility for the Trust achieving its charitable objectives. They sign off the Articles of Association and have the power to appoint and remove the Directors. The Members include representatives from the Diocese of Newcastle and Hexham. The majority of the Members are independent of the Directors to provide challenge and scrutiny to the Board.

‚ÄčThe ultimate responsibility for the running of our schools resides with the Directors of the Trust. They set the strategic direction for the Trust and are accountable to the Secretary of State for the performance of the schools within it. This is set out in a legal document known as the ‘funding agreement‘. As charity trustees, they must also ensure that they are complying with charity law requirements. 

The authority for running each school remains at Local Governing Committee level and is clearly defined by our scheme of delegation


St Bernadette's Local Governing Council membership 2022-23 and key areas of responsibility:

Mrs K Mullen (Foundation) - Governor responsible for Child Protection, Safeguarding, Vulnerable groups

Mrs P Henzell (Foundation) - Governor responsible for Catholic Life and Personal Development

Mrs A Alexander (Foundation) - Governor responsible for SEND 

Mrs J Miley (Foundation) - Governor responsible for Quality of Education and Early Years

Mr S Scott (Foundation) - Governor responsible for Health and Safety, Finance and Premiums

Mr A Morris (Parent) - Governor responsible for Behaviour and Attitudes 

Miss S Kincaid (staff) Class Teacher 


Mrs L Fallon (staff) Headteacher 

Miss L Dempsey (staff - associate member) Class teacher and Acting Deputy Headteacher